Excellence, Tradition & Pride Since 1864
building at night

Paducah Public Schools News Article

Snardon Selected for Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Award

All 24 teachers will be honored at a ceremony in Frankfort on October 20 in the State Capitol Building. Governor Steve Beshear, Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Secretary Thomas Zawacki, and Sam Mitchell, Ashland, Inc. senior vice president and president of Valvoline, will be present to honor the teachers and to recognize the Kentucky Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers of the Year.

From this group of three finalists, the Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be named and will represent the state in the national Teacher of the Year competition.

The Kentucky Teacher Awards program combines the best elements of the Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards and the Kentucky Teacher of the Year programs. This marks the 15th year the Kentucky Department of Education and Ashland have partnered to honored Kentucky educators.

Judging was conducted in August by a blue-ribbon panel of veteran educators, many of whom have more than 25 years of teaching experience. Applications included information on the nominees’ teaching philosophies, teaching experiences and involvement in their respective communities, as well as letters of recommendation from peers, students, parents, administrators and others.

Ashland has recognized outstanding Kentucky teachers with its Teacher Achievement Awards since 1988. Approximately $776,500 has been awarded to 524 teachers of grades K to 12.

Print This Article
800 Caldwell St. Paducah, KY 42003 | Phone: (270) 444-5600 | Fax: (270) 444-5607
View text-based website