Excellence, Tradition & Pride Since 1864
building at night

Paducah Public Schools News Article

Paducah Students Gain Civic Experience as Junior Board Members

Junior board members included:
Clark: Abigail Wurth and Ally Hutchins
Morgan: Destiny Thomas and Elijah Haywood
McNabb: Esley Cornelius and Mahali Brown
PMS: Bryce Johnson and Katie Peck
PTHS : Jack Daniels and Alex Dunbar

The program is a memorial to former board member Bobby L. Jones. Jones was a 1973 PTHS graduate, athlete, and former school board member. Mr. Jones had the original idea of having students serve as future board members so they could see the process and learn how to become a board member. The program is now in its 16th year. The students were partnered with a board member or the superintendent and allowed to make motions on their behalf during the meeting.

Print This Article
800 Caldwell St. Paducah, KY 42003 | Phone: (270) 444-5600 | Fax: (270) 444-5607
View text-based website