Excellence, Tradition & Pride Since 1864
building at night

Paducah Public Schools News Article

PTHS Speech Places Ninth at State Tournament

Three PTHS team members advanced to the final rounds, placing among the top six in the state. Brante Green took fifth in the state in Improv Duo; Micheal Hassel also placed fifth in the state in both Improv Duo and Humorous Interpretation; Michael Ellen Walden took fifth overall in Storytelling. Making it to the quarterfinal rounds in Varsity Public Forum Debate were Jack Daniels and Carter Vaughn.

Speech semifinalists, those who advanced to the top eighteen in the state, were Claire Kelly and Landon Rutherford, Broadcast Announcing; Reagan Davidson and Jose Roserio dos Remedios, Duo Interpretation; Jack Daniels and Carter Vaughn, Improv Duo; and Meg Hancock, Impromptu Speaking and Original Oratory.

Six team members earned top three finishes in preliminary rounds. Earning first place were Ella Bailey and Milan Doan. Second place went to Nina Brown and Kathryn Winfield. Eryn Fulton and Lakyn Fulton captured third place rankings.

Six Tilghman students advanced in degrees in the National Speech and Debate Honorary Society. Advancing to the Degree of Excellence (150 competition points) were Hasaan Ali, Reagan Davidson, and John Holtgrewe. Advancing to the Degree of Honor (75 competition points) were Ella Bailey, Anna Grace McGee, and Landon Rutherford.

The tournament's results provided Brante Green and Micheal Hassel the points to earn spots on the nation’s list of Top Ten Duo Improvisers. Brante entered at eighth and Micheal at tenth. Carter Vaughn moved onto the Kentucky All State Speech Team, entering at 141, out of the top 150 in the state.

Friday, March 20, selected team members will travel to Danville to compete in the National Qualifying Speech and Debate Tournament at Centre College.

Photo caption from front left: Michael Ellen Walden, Micheal Hassel, Brante Green, Carter Vaughn, Anna Grace McGee, Claire Kelly, Will Denton, Meg Hancock, Jack Daniels, Jose Del Roserio dos Remedios, Milan Doan, Reagan Davidson, Kathryn Winfield, Ella Bailey, Palmer Stroup, Landan Ross, Lucas Reed, Eryn Fulton, Nina Brown, Lakyn Fulton, Landon Rutherford, Hasaan Ali, Marco Garcia. Not pictured: John Holtgrewe.

Print This Article
800 Caldwell St. Paducah, KY 42003 | Phone: (270) 444-5600 | Fax: (270) 444-5607
View text-based website